1999 Awards

The three Awards for 1999 were presented by the President of Costa Rica at the opening ceremonies of the 7th Meeting of the COP in San José, Costa Rica. Each award was accompanied by the Evian Special Prize, generously provided by the Danone Group (France), of US$ 10,000

For the 1999 Awards, the Ramsar Standing Committee chose to share the Awards in the Individual and NGO categories.  The announcement of the 1999 Wetland Conservation Award winners, with brief descriptions of the contributions for which these individuals and groups were honored, was made on World Wetlands Day, 2 February 1999.

NGO Award 1999 - Society for the Protection of Prespa

Society for the Protection of Prespa, Greece

Government/Non-governmental Coalition Award 1999

Pacific Estuary Conservation Program (PECP), Canada

NGO Award 1999 - Lake Naivasha Riparian Association

Lake Naivasha Riparian Association, Kenya

Individual Award 1999 - Vitaly Krivenko

Prof. Vitaly G. Krivenko, Russian Federation

Individual Award 1999 - Victor Pulido

Victor Pulido, Peru