2005 Awards

The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards were presented for the third time on 8th November 2005, on the occasion of the opening ceremony of the Ninth Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands in Kampala, Uganda.

As in previous editions, the three 2005 awards were complemented by the Evian Special Prize, generously donated by Groupe DANONE, as part of the DANONE/Evian Fund for water to support the Convention on Wetlands.

The 2005 laureates also received a jewel created by Jeweller Gilbert Albert, Switzerland, and the Ramsar trophy created by sculptress Verena Darmon.

Award for Education (shared) 2005

Ms Reiko Nakamura, Japan

Award for Education (shared) 2005

The Wetlands Centre is being recognized for its pioneer role in the use of CEPA activities to achieve restoration and management, first of the Hunter Estuary Wetlands, and then expanding...

Award for Management 2005

Dr. Sh.A. Nezami Baloochi, Iran

Award for Science 2005

Prof. Shuming Cai, China