2015 Awards

The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards will be presented on 3 June 2015 in Punta del Este, Uruguay at the 12th Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Convention on Wetlands (COP12).

This year, the Ramsar Awards are presented in three categories, Wetlands Wise Use, Innovation and Young Wetland Champions. On this occasion, the jury has also conferred a Merit Award to recognize three individuals' outstanding achievements in the wetlands community.

The three 2015 award winners will receive the Evian Special Prize, of US$10,000, generously donated by the DANONE Group, as part of the support to the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands from the ”DANONE-Evian Fund for Water”. They will also receive a beautiful photographic image from Charlie Waite, an internationally recognised landscape photographer.  The merit award winners will receive a Limited Edition print from the celebrated artist Jeremy Houghton. At the Convention we are delighted to be working with both of these highly-acclaimed artists.

Categories, Criteria and Procedures

Award for Merit 2015

Tour du Valat - Director, Jean Jalbert / France

Award for Merit 2015

Professor Gea Jae Joo, Pusan National University / Republic of Korea

Award for Merit 2015

Director, Everglades Wetland Research Park / USA

Award for Wise Use 2015

Ms Giselle Hazzan, Manager, Ein Afek Nature Reserve (EANR), Israel

Award for Innovation 2015

Oceanium - Director, Jean-Christophe Henry / Senegal

Award for Young Wetland Champions 2015

Fundación Humedales Bogot á - Director, Jorge Emmanuel Escobar Moreno / Colombia